Capital Hotel & Spa – The Tour

It was a sunny Friday afternoon, I was going about my usual business in the New Flower when I decided to stop by for a cup of Ethiopian coffee at this mysterious looking hotel at Urael, the ‘Ceramic Capital of Addis Ababa’. So I went straight to the parking lot and into the 5-Star hotel I entered. Passing outside of this hotel can be mistaken for your average road side hotel until you enter and get a feel of the Capital Hotel and Spa.

Capital Hotel And Spa Night View Addis Ababa Ethiopia Africa.PNG

The reception is very expansive and can be overwhelmingly welcoming as you walk in. So I went upstairs to the first floor and as I went up the stairs what I really appreciated about the place is the peace and silence that it offers. It is the best definition of a haven of peace. I sat down at the counter and got my laptop out of my Urban Phunk Leather Bag to do check out some emails. The bartender approached me and asked me what I wanted to have. I asked her to recommend something that would aid my ailing stomach. She did so in a few minutes and what I was served was the best special tea I had taken while in Abyssinia. I can confidently say that my stomach felt much better not so long after.

A few minutes into using my laptop, I came across the Executive Sales and Marketing Director, Mr. Wegene and I requested to be shown around the hotel of which he assigned me to Ms. Liya Mariam, a brilliant lady who’s also a Computer Science graduate from Mekelle, a city to the North of Ethiopia close to the Eritrean border.

We started off with the conference rooms which are named after African Icons and African water bodies such as Nelson Mandela, Wangari Maathai, Afework Tekle, OMO and the Great River Nile. Depending on the style, they can hold a capacity of as few as 12 people up to a maximum number of 700 people and are all fitted with a pre-function area, super fast & reliable Wi-Fi, a business center and translation booth options.

capital-hotel-and-spa-conferencing-addis-ababa-ethiopia-africa

Then we went to the rooms, the place has an impressive 114 rooms which are all fitted with a Bathtub and Jacuzzi, A Bathrobe & Slippers, Direct Dial Telephone, Mini-bar (YES IT COMES WITH THE PACKAGE), TV, Wi-Fi, Free Gym facilities (outside of the room). The facilities are all the same whether you are in the suite or the usual standard room. Only key difference is the size and in the Presidential Suite, you get to have your own living-room. I call that the Capital Experience!

capital-hotel-and-spa-dining-addis-ababa-ethiopia-africa

Next were the dining areas and bars which were very classy and cool. The main restaurant dining can hold up to 140 people, the Gallery Bar on the mezzanine floor accommodates 30-45 people, and the highlight of the bars is the Sky Line Lounge and Bar with a capacity to hold 70 people located on the 9th floor (top most floor) overlooking Urael on the left and Hayahulet to the right, an absolutely breath-taking experience. But sorry folks, don’t leave work too early or Bole International Airport in a hurry to come and have a drink. The Sky Line Lounge is only open from 4.00pm – 11.00pm. Happy hour is from 2.00pm – 5.30pm at a 30% discount only applicable to the pool bar and gallery bar. And for those of you with a sweet tooth and a love for pastries, then look no further than City Stop Pastry.  The baker recommends you to try the Chocolate & Caramel cakes next time you want to stop by. The prices are also quite reasonable for a place of its stature. A slice of cake for $1.5 & a Kilogram for $14 is quite a good deal. So next time you want to treat that special girl at a classy place the Capital City Stop Pastry has got you covered.

capital-hotel-and-spa-gym-addis-ababa-ethiopia-africa

Last but not least, I was led to my favorite amenity in every hotel that I visit. The gym and spa. The gym is truly state of the art, fully equipped and very spacious (100 square meters to be exact) and you don’t need to worry about your safety or if your gym partner is going to drop their weights on you like a gym I used to attend way back in the day LOL. No doubt, it’s one of the best gyms I have ever stepped into. For a more detailed explanation of the gym and the different equipment that are available, you can check out it out right here  and also for group fitness.And if you like swimming, then the Capital Swim is definitely for you. If you’re looking to exercise or just relax, you will be glad to find out that the outdoor pool is heated so you will have every reason to go out for a swim while you stay at Capital Hotel.

capital-hotel-and-spa-swimming-pool-addis-ababa-ethiopia-africa

Then we concluded with a tour of the men’s spa. The first thing that strikes you is the sculpture just at the entrance of the spa that looks like a 15th Century Michelangelo sculpture, very legit, and the paintings on the walls make Leonardo Da Vinci come alive in the place. I felt like I had been transported to a totally different dimension. The heat from the sauna and steam bath could have you thinking someone dropped you right in the middle of Timbuktu but nonetheless the relaxation mood is set just right for what you need when you want to take a break from the busyness of Addis Ababa. And then as you keep going in you realize that Capital Hotel doesn’t just boast of having the biggest spa in town but also the best. The Jacuzzi is elevated with just the proper lighting and tons of beds to relax on once you’ve had enough of the Capital Spa Experience. You can also experience different kinds of Massages, Moroccan bath, Vitamin court, Barber shop and Beauty salon for the ladies.

Have you visited Capital Hotel & Spa before? What did you feel stood out the most for you? Please leave your comments below and remember to click on the share button of your favorite social media platform.

One thought on “Capital Hotel & Spa – The Tour

Leave a comment